Erin Coffel, Kayla Kowalik Voted CSC Academic All-America

Erin Coffel, Kayla Kowalik Voted CSC Academic All-America

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Kentucky Softball players Erin Coffel and Kayla Kowalik have both been voted as members of the 2023 College Sports Communicators Academic All-America Teams, it was announced by the organization on Tuesday morning.

The 2023 CSC Academic All-America Teams are voted on by college softball sports information directors who are members of the College Sports Communicators, with 50 percent of the vote being based off of academic success and the other 50 percent of the vote being based off of athletic success.

The honors are the first for both Kowalik and Coffel for academic all-America in their careers. Kayla Kowalik finished the year with a .442 batting average, 80 hits, 10 doubles, three triples, two home runs and 24 RBI. She successfully stole 15 of 17 bases this season and started in all 54 games the Wildcats played. Erin Coffel continued her chase of the Kentucky home run record with 19 bombs this season and hit .440 with 60 runs scored, 55 hits, 10 doubles, and 55 RBI. She was walked a nation-leading 64 times and went 3-for-3 stealing bases.

2023 CSC Academic All-America Teams

First Team

P – Ashley Rogers (Tennessee)

P – Montana Fouts (Alabama)

C – Kayla Kowalik (Kentucky)

IF – Grace Lyons (Oklahoma)

IF – Tiare Jennings (Oklahoma)

IF – Alyssa Brito (Oklahoma)

IF – Allie Skaggs (Arizona)

OF – Kiki Milloy (Tennessee)

OF – Natalie DenHartog (Minnesota)

OF – Yannira Acuna (Arizona State)

DP – Deja Davis (Duke)

Second Team

P – Jordy Bahl (Oklahoma)

P – Megan Faraimo (UCLA)

C – Ally Shipman (Alabama)

C – Caitlyn Brockway (UTEP)

IF – Rachel Becker (Oklahoma State)

IF – Allee Bunker (Oregon)

IF – Katie Keller (Wisconsin)

IF – Emily Young (Stanford)

OF – Ashley Trieweiler (Santa Clara)

OF – Cheyenne Factor (Oklahoma State)

OF – Emma Schutter (Dayton)

DP – Morgyn Wynne (Oklahoma State)

Third Team

P – Kelly Maxwell (Oklahoma State)

P – Nicole May (Oklahoma)

C – Riley Coyne (Miami)

C – Sydney Collazos (Baylor)

IF – Emme Olson (Illinois State)

IF – Erin Coffel (Kentucky)

IF – Makena Smith (Cal)

IF – McKenna Gibson (Tennessee)

OF – Alex Honnold (Mizzou)

OF – Carolina Jacobsen (Clemson)

OF – Katelynn Carwile (Oklahoma State)

DP – Caroline Hudson (Liberty)

For the latest on UK Softball, follow the Wildcats on Twitter and Instagram at @UKSoftball.

Related Stories

View all