Men's Basketball

Jan. 23, 2014

ST. LOUIS – Kentucky freshman forward Julius Randle has added Oscar Robertson midseason watch list honors to his ever-growing list of accolades it was announced by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) on Thursday.

Randle has already been tabbed to the Wooden Award midseason watch list and has won numerous awards throughout his impressive freshman campaign.

The Dallas, Texas, native is currently leading the Wildcats with 16.7 points per game and 10.6 rebounds per outing. He’s tallied 11 double-doubles through 18 contests a mark that ranks as the most of any John Calipari-coached player at UK through the same number of games. UK’s single season freshman record for double-doubles is 20 held by both DeMarcus Cousins and former Oscar Robertson Trophy award winner Anthony Davis.

The USBWA selected 23 outstanding players for its 2014 Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List. Members of the association’s board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

The award is to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 14 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award and the Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

While these standout players are the leading contenders to be named to the USBWA’s All-America Team and as finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all Division I players remain eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. The association will announce its 2014 All-America Team in mid-March. At that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy. 

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Randle and the Wildcats return to the hardwood on Saturday, Jan. 25 for a 1:30 p.m. ET tip with Georgia. The game will air live on SEC TV.

Related Stories

View all