78 Wildcats Honored with 2020-21 CATSPYs

78 Wildcats Honored with 2020-21 CATSPYs

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The CATSPY Awards presented by UK Federal Credit Union concluded on Friday, with the last of 78 outstanding individuals and five teams recognized at the 19th annual celebration of UK Athletics.
The most prestigious honors were presented Friday, with national champion volleyball team, the national champion rifle team and the first-time Southeastern Conference champion women’s swimming and diving team named Teams of the Year.
Six Wildcats – Josh Paschal (football), Landon Young (football), Madison Lilley (volleyball), Akvile Parazinskaite (women’s tennis), Avery Skinner (volleyball) and Abby Steiner (women’s track & field) – won UK Athletics’ highest individual honor in being named Mr. and Miss Wildcat. Paschal accomplished the rare feat of being named Mr. Wildcat in consecutive seasons. The Mr. and Miss Wildcat honors are presented in honor of late Kentucky tennis star Bruno Agostinelli to Wildcats who have displayed all-around excellence in athletics, academics, character and service during their Kentucky careers.
On Thursday, the Elite Performance CATSPY Award, in its second year, was presented. Wednesday brought the announcement of the Heart of a Wildcat awards. Those were presented to the late John Schlarman (football), the late Cullan Brown (men’s golf), the late Ben Jordan (baseball and men’s basketball) and the late Terrence Clarke (men’s basketball).
Awards given out on Tuesday were the Blue Heart, Scratch and Supporting Role awards, as well as the male and female rookies of the year. CATSPYs week opened on Monday with the Community Service, Scholar-Athlete, Bill Keightley Assist and Academic Teams of the Year awards.
This year’s CATSPYs were presented virtually for the second time due to the ongoing response to COVID-19, with winners announced on BBN Tonight, with hosts Keith Farmer and Anna Tarullo. Winners and other special guests joined BBN Tonight all week and the stellar work of UK Sports Video was featured both on the live show and on social media. The CATSPYs are presented in the spring of each year, with this year’s awards recognizing achievements from April 2020 through April 2021.
A complete list of awards and winners is below:
2021 CATSPY Winners   
Community Service       
Tori Orcutt, Swimming & Diving
Raena Worley, Gymnastics

Payton Neff, Swimming & Diving
Olivia Huffman, Swimming & Diving
Allen Hamilton, Men’s Golf
Academic Teams            
Men’s Golf         
Keightley Assist
Taylor Berryman, Men’s Basketball
Rachael Blackburn, Women’s Basketball
Andrew Holt, Swimming & Diving
Carter Hayslett, Men’s Tennis
Scratch Award  
Parker Herren, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Tori Herman, Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country
Zach Johnson, Football
Anna Haigis, Gymnastics
Supporting Role              
Maddie Berezowitz, Volleyball
Yusuf Corker, Football
Female Rookie of the Year         
Madi Skinner, Volleyball
Bailey Bunn, Gymnastics
Male Rookie of the Year              
Liam Draxl, Men’s Tennis
Raena Worley, Gymnastics
Josie Angeny, Gymnastics
Bailey Bunn, Gymnastics
Anna Haigis, Gymnastics
Arianna Patterson, Gymnastics
Caitlin Brooks, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Bailey Bonnett, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Izzy Gati, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Riley Gaines, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Kaitlynn Wheeler, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Sophie Sorenson, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Gillian Davey, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Lauren Poole, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Kyndal Knight, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Danny Zhang, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Jordyn Rhodes, Women’s Soccer
Rhyne Howard, Women’s Basketball
Will Shaner, Rifle
Mary Tucker, Rifle
Madison Lilley, Volleyball
Avery Skinner, Volleyball
Alli Stumler, Volleyball
Madi Skinner, Volleyball
Azhani Tealer, Volleyball
Gabby Curry, Volleyball
Jenna Gearing, Women’s Cross Country
Lance Lang, Men’s Track & Field
Dwight St. Hillaire, Men’s Track & Field
Jacob Smith, Men’s Track & Field
Kennedy Lightner, Men’s Track & Field
Kenroy Williams, Men’s Track & Field
Matt Peare, Men’s Track & Field
Abby Steiner, Women’s Track & Field
Dajour Miles, Women’s Track & Field
Megan Moss, Women’s Track & Field
Masai Russell, Women’s Track & Field
Annika Williams, Women’s Track & Field
Jamin Davis, Football
Drake Jackson, Football
Darian Kinnard, Football
Chris Rodriguez Jr., Football
Landon Young, Football
Marcel Meinzer, Men’s Soccer
Leon Jones, Men’s Soccer
Liam Draxl, Men’s Tennis
Gabriel Diallo, Men’s Tennis
Akvile Paražinskaite, Women’s Tennis
Fiona Arrese, Women’s Tennis
Team of the Year            
Women’s Swimming and Diving 
Blue Heart Award           
Avery Skinner, Volleyball
Heart of a Wildcat          
John Schlarman, Football
Cullan Brown, Men’s Golf
Ben Jordan, Baseball/Men’s Basketball
Terrence Clarke, Men’s Basketball
Mr. Wildcat       
Josh Paschal, Football
Landon Young, Football
Miss Wildcat     
Avery Skinner, Volleyball
Madison Lilley, Volleyball
Abby Steiner, Track & Field
Akvile Paražinskaite, Women’s Tennis
Mike Lyden Courage     
Chris Oats, Football

Related Stories

View all