Erin Coffel and Kayla Kowalik Named First Team All-SEC

Erin Coffel and Kayla Kowalik Named First Team All-SEC

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Kentucky Softball players Erin Coffel and Kayla Kowalik were named to the 2023 All-Southeastern Conference First Team, the league office announced Friday morning. In addition to being named All-SEC, Kowalik was voted to the SEC All-Defensive Team.

The awards were voted on by the 13 head coaches in the league with the 21 highest vote getters being named First Team All-SEC, and the next 21 highest vote getters being placed on the All-SEC Second Team. The defensive team was comprised of the top single vote getter for each defensive position across the league. Only conference stats are considered when voting for the awards.

With Kowalik being placed on the All-SEC Team, she earns the distinction of being named All-SEC by the league coaches in every year that she was eligible. She hit .450 this season with 44 runs scored, 77 hits, 10 doubles, three triples and a home run. She caught in all but three games this year with only one error to her name and three passed balls, marking herself as one of the best catchers in the nation.

Coffel hit .427 with 56 runs scored in the 2023 season, as she has 50 total hits with 27 of those 50 connections coming as extra-base hits. On the year, she also led the NCAA with 62 total walks and was a perfect 2-for-2 in swiping bases with 51 runs batted in.

Florida’s Skylar Wallace was the SEC Player of the Year. Tennessee’s Karlyn Pickens won freshman of the year and Karen Weekly nabbed coach of the year. Auburn’s Maddie Penta was the SEC Pitcher of the Year.

The 2023 NCAA Softball Selection show will take place Sunday at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN2.


2023 First Team All-SEC

Montana Fouts, Alabama

Ashley Prange, Alabama

Chenise Delce, Arkansas

Maddie Penta, Auburn

Charla Echols, Florida

Skylar Wallace, Florida

Jayda Kearney, Georgia

Sydney Kuma, Georgia

Sara Mosley, Georgia

Shelby Walters, Georgia

Erin Coffel, Kentucky

Kayla Kowalik, Kentucky

Ali Kilponen, LSU

Ali Newland, LSU

Donnie Gobourne, South Carolina

McKenna Gibson, Tennessee

Kiki Milloy, Tennessee

Zaida Puni, Tennessee

Ashley Rogers, Tennessee

Julia Cottrill, Texas A&M

Rylen Wiggins, Texas A&M


2023 Second Team All-SEC

Jenna Johnson, Alabama

Larissa Preuitt, Alabama

Hannah Camenzind, Arkansas

Kristina Foreman, Arkansas

Cylie Halverson, Arkansas

Rylin Hedgecock, Arkansas

Reagan Johnson, Arkansas

Denver Bryant, Auburn

Nelia Peralta, Auburn

Kendra Falby, Florida

Reagan Walsh, Florida

Jaiden Fields, Georgia

Madison Kerpics, Georgia

Sydney Berzon, LSU

Ciara Briggs, LSU

Taylor Pleasants, LSU

McKenzie Redoutey, LSU

Alex Honnold, Missouri

Jenna Laird, Missouri

Karlyn Pickens, Tennessee

Koko Wooley, Texas A&M


SEC All-Defensive Team

P – Maddie Penta, Auburn

C – Kayla Kowalik, Kentucky

1B – Raeleen Gutierrez, LSU

2B – Sydney Kuma, Georgia

3B – Charla Echols, Florida

SS – Taylor Pleasants, LSU

LF – Tate Whitley, Ole Miss

CF – Ciera Briggs, LSU

RF – McKenzie Redoutey, LSU


For the latest on UK Softball, follow the Wildcats on Twitter and Instagram at @UKSoftball.

Related Stories

View all