Will Levis Named Walter Camp Connecticut Player of the Year

Will Levis Named Walter Camp Connecticut Player of the Year

by UK Athletics Communications and PR

Kentucky quarterback Will Levis and Miami’s Tyler Van Dyke, have been named Walter Camp’s 2021 Connecticut Players of Year, presented by Talent Champions Council, it was announced Wednesday.
The duo will be honored, along with the members of the 2021 Walter Camp All-America Team, Player
of Year Kenneth Walker III (Michigan State) and Coach of Year Luke Fickell (Cincinnati) at the Foundation’s 56th National Awards Gala, presented by 777 Partners, on Saturday, March 12 at Yale University’s Schwarzman Center.
Levis, a 6-foot-3, 232-pound quarterback from Madison, Connecticut, started in all 13 games and helped lead UK to 10 wins for the fourth time in school history. He totaled 3,203 yards of total offense and was just the seventh player in school history to reach 3,000 yards total offense in a season.
He completed 233 of 353 passes for 2,827 yards (66.0 percent) and 24 touchdowns in leading UK to its second 10-win season in the last four years. He added 376 yards and a team-high tying nine rushing touchdowns.
Levis ranked in the top 10 in several statistical categories in the Southeastern Conference, including fourth in offensive touchdowns (33), sixth in total offensive yards (3,203), total passing yards (2,827), and passing touchdowns.
He received the Howard Schnellenberger Award as the Most Valuable Player of the Governor’s Cup game. He also earned College Football Performance Awards National Performer of the Week honorable mention.
Levis played scholastically for Xavier High School in the Southern Connecticut Conference.
National Awards Gala tickets are $450 and available at
Walter Camp Connecticut Players of Year
Presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The
award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.
2021 – Will Levis, QB, Kentucky; Tyler Van Dyke, QB, Miami
2020 – Andrew Stueber, OL, Michigan
2019 – Christian Montano, C, Tulane
2018 – Zach Allen, DE, Boston College
2017 – Ervin Philips, WR, Syracuse
2016 – Noel Thomas, WR, Connecticut
2015 – Tyler Matakevich, LB, Temple
2014 – Tyler Murphy, QB, Boston College
2013 – Kevin Pierre-Louis, LB, Boston College
2012 – Bjoern Werner, DE, Florida State
2011 – Silas Redd, RB, Penn State
2010 – John Moffitt, OL, Wisconsin
2009 – Aaron Hernandez, TE, Florida
2008 – Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue
2007 – Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
2006 – Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue
2005 – John Sullivan, C, Notre Dame
2004 – Anttaj Hawthorne, DT, Wisconsin; Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut
2003 – Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut
2002 – Niko Koutouvides, LB, Purdue
2001 – Dwight Freeney, DE, Syracuse
2000 – Peter Mazza, LB, Yale
1999 – Bobby Myers, DB, Wisconsin
1998 – Carl Bond, RB, Connecticut
1997 – Kyle McIntosh, RB, Syracuse
1996 – Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin
1995 – Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin
1994 – Jason Miska, LB, Auburn
1993 – Chris Zingo, LB, Cornell
1992 – Curtis Eller, LB, Villanova
1991 – Corey Vincent, DL, Holy Cross
1990 – Rob Thomson, DB, Syracuse
1989 – Terry Wooden, LB, Syracuse
1988 – Glenn Antrum, WR, Connecticut
1987 – Bill Romanowski, LB, Boston College
1986 – Richard Comizio, RB, Pennsylvania
1985 – Tom Patton, DE, Holy Cross
1984 – No recipient
1983 – Steve Young, QB, Brigham Young
1982 – Mike Marshall, DB, Southern Conn.
1981 – Richard Diana, RB, Yale

Related Stories

View all