Conrad, Westry Tabbed Freshman All-SEC

Conrad, Westry Tabbed Freshman All-SEC

LEXINGTON, Ky. — Kentucky tight end C.J. Conrad and cornerback Chris Westry have been named to the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman Team, in a voting of league coaches, it was announced on Thursday.

The duo marks the eighth consecutive season the Wildcats have had a representative on the Coaches’ SEC All-Freshman Team. It marks the second straight year UK has had two members of the SEC All-Freshman Team, as Austin MacGinnis and Ramsey Meyers were honored in 2014. Conrad is the first tight end since Jordan Aumiller (2010) and Westry is the first cornerback since Trevard Lindey (2006) to be honored on the Freshman All-SEC Team.  

Conrad, a native of LaGrange, Ohio, finished his collegiate debut leading all SEC freshmen tight ends with 15 catches, collecting 149 yards and a touchdown. Early in the season, he was consistently praised by UK’s coaching staff for his efforts in run blocking, before breaking out with his first three career catches for 55 yards, and a 28-yard touchdown strike, in a win over No. 23 Missouri.

A native of Orange Park, Fla., Westry started all 12 games in his collegiate debut and ranked second in the SEC among freshmen with 10 passes defended. The 6-foot-4 cornerback finished tied for the team lead with eight pass break-ups, adding 36 tackles, one sack, a quarterback hurry and two interceptions. Westry was named SEC Freshman of the Week after a game-clinching interception in UK’s win at South Carolina to open league play. He picked off his second pass of the year at Mississippi State, the first interception of the year thrown by senior QB Dak Prescott.

Kentucky Selections to SEC All-Freshman Team (Coaches)
2000: Derek Abney, Antonio Hall, Dewayne Robertson, Chad Scott
2001: Ellery Moore
2002: Taylor Begley, Deio Holts
2003: Lamar Mills, Durrell White
2004: Wesley Woodyard
2005: David Jones, Braxton Kelley, Shomar Moore
2006: Justin Jefferies, Micah Johnson, Trevard Lindley, Lones Seiber
2008: Randall Cobb
2009: Larry Warford
2010: Jordan Aumiller
2011: Maxwell Smith
2012: Landon Foster
2013: Jon Toth
2014: Austin MacGinnis, Ramsey Meyers


TE – C.J. Conrad, Kentucky 

OL – 
William Clapp, LSU
Martez Ivey, Florida
Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
Chance Hall, Tennessee

C – Zack Bailey, South Carolina  

WR – 
Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
Calvin Ridley, Alabama

QB – Kyler Murray, Texas A&M 

RB – 
Derrius Guice, LSU
Rawleigh Williams III, Arkansas

AP – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M 

DL – 
Arden Key, LSU
Terry Beckner, Missouri
Walter Brady, Missouri
Cece Jefferson, Florida

LB – 
Dre Greenlaw, Arkansas
Gerri Green, Mississippi State
Darrin Kirkland Jr., Tennessee

DB – 
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Carlton Davis, Auburn
Marlon Humphrey, Alabama
Chris Westry, Kentucky

P –  Corey Fatony, Missouri  

RS –  Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

Related Stories

View all