Williamson Named All-SEC Second Team by League Coaches

Williamson Named All-SEC Second Team by League Coaches

By Evan Crane
Dec. 10, 2013 –

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – A day after being honored by the Associated Press as a second-team All-Southeastern Conference performer, Kentucky senior linebacker Avery Williamson earned the same honor Tuesday by league’s coaches as the conference office announced its 2013 Coaches’ All-SEC Teams.

With the honor, Williamson became the first UK linebacker to earn All-SEC honors by league coaches since current Denver Broncos starting linebacker Danny Trevathan was selected to the second team in 2011. The native of Milan, Tenn., was honored as a second-team All-SEC linebacker by the AP on Monday, marking the first All-SEC honor of his career. Kentucky has had at least one All-SEC second-team selection by league coaches every year through 1997.

Williamson was named All-SEC second team by last season and was media__sports_m-footbl_auto_original_7344595-1437525869051.jpegselected to the All-SEC third team in 2012 by Phil Steele’s College Football. The publication also named him a second-team Midseason All-SEC pick this season.

Williamson finished the season as UK’s leading tackler for the second consecutive year, posting 102 total tackles to rank tied for fourth in the SEC in that category. The senior also had four tackles for loss, one sack, three quarterback hurries and two fumble recoveries. The native of Milan, Tenn., finished his career with 296 total tackles. Williamson, who played in 49 career games with 24 starts, had double-digit tackles in four games in 2013 and ended his career with 12 double-digit tackle games.

The star linebacker began the season as a third-team Preseason All-SEC honoree by league coaches and media, while and Phil Steele’s College Football named him a second-team Preseason All-SEC member. Williamson was also named to the Butkus Award Watch List for the nation’s best linebacker, College Football Performance Awards Linebacker Trophy Watch List and Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, which honors players who have made the biggest impact on their teams both on the field and off.

Williamson, who was captain in all 12 games for UK last season, was named a candidate for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award and a member of the SEC Community Service Team.

First Team – Offense

TE – Arthur Lynch, Georgia
OL – Jake Matthews, Texas A&M; Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama; Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State; Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt
C – Reese Dismukes, Auburn
WR – Mike Evans, Texas A&M; Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB – Tre Mason, Auburn; T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
AP – Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU    

First Team – Defense

DL – Michael Sam, Missouri; Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina; Dee Ford, Auburn; Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina
LB – C.J. Mosley, Alabama; Ramik Wilson, Georgia;
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
DB – Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss; Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama; E.J. Gaines, Missouri; Vernon Hargreaves, Florida

First Team – Special Teams

PK – Marshall Morgan, Georgia   
P – Drew Kaser, Texas A&M  
RS – Christion Jones, Alabama*; Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU*  

Second Team – Offense

TE – Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State 
OL – La’el Collins, LSU; Antonio Richardson, Tennessee; Justin Britt, Missouri; Anthony Steen, Alabama
C – Travis Swanson, Arkansas
WR – Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU; Jarvis Landry, LSU
QB – AJ McCarron, Alabama
RB – Mike Davis, South Carolina; Jeremy Hill, LSU
AP – Marcus Murphy, Missouri

Second Team – Defense

DL – Anthony Johnson, LSU; Chris Smith, Arkansas; Ed Stinson, Alabama; Trey Flowers, Arkansas

LB –

Avery Williamson, Kentucky;
Lamin Barrow, LSU; Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
DB – Andre Hal, Vanderbilt; Chris Davis, Auburn; Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State; Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt

Second Team – Special Teams

PK – Michael Palardy, Tennessee
P – Cody Mandell, Alabama
RS – Solomon Patton, Florida

Related Stories

View all