June 14, 2000

LEXINGTON, Kty. – University of Kentucky head coach Keith Madison, the South Region Representative to the American Baseball Coaches Association All-America Selection committee, announced the results of the balloting for the All-South Region team on Wednesday with 10 members of the 14-player team coming from Southeastern Conference schools.

The All-South Region team was voted on by the 43 coaches of the ABCA South Region and will help comprise the ballot for the ABCA/Rawlings All-America teams along with All-Region teams made up of players from the other seven regions.

Leading the list of honorees was South Carolina starting pitcher Kip Bouknight, who led the Gamecocks to a school-record 56 victories. The junior right-hander went 17-1 to pace the Gamecocks to a Super Regional berth. Joining Bouknight among the four pitchers named to the team were teammates Peter Bauer and Scott Barber. Bauer won 13 games for Carolina while Barber finished the season tied for sixth in the NCAA with 15 saves. Houston right-hander Kyle Crowell was also named to the All-South Region team.

First baseman Todd Faulkner of Auburn, second baseman Chris Burke of Tennessee and shortstop Jeff Keppinger of Georgia gave the SEC three infielders on the team while third baseman Jake Gautreau of Tulane rounded out the infield.

The SEC’s home run leader Brad Cresse of Louisiana State was named to the team as a catcher while Jason Dill of Florida was named as the designated hitter. Dill’s teammate Tim Olson was one of four outfielders named to the team along with Gabe Gross of Auburn, Jeremy Johnson of Southeast Missouri State and Bryan Peck of Middle Tennessee State.

All players on the All-South Region team will be eligible for the ABCA/Rawlings All-America team voting that took place in Omaha at the College World Series last weekend. Results of that vote will be announced next week.

All-South Region Team

Starting Pitchers

Kip Bouknight South Carolina
Peter Bauer South Carolina
Kyle Crowell Houston
Relief Pitcher

Scott Barber South Carolina

Brad Cresse LSU
First Baseman

Todd Faulkner Auburn
Second Baseman

Chris Burke Tennessee
Third Baseman

Jake Gautreau Tulane

Jeff Keppinger Georgia

Tim Olson Florida
Gabe Gross Auburn
Jeremy Johnson Southeast Missouri State
Bryan Peck Middle Tennessee State
Designated Hitter

Jason Dill Florida

Related Stories

View all