Women's Basketball
Molly Johnson-Belcher is Kentucky’s SEC Women’s Legend for 2024

Molly Johnson-Belcher is Kentucky’s SEC Women’s Legend for 2024

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Molly Johnson-Belcher, who was the Kentucky Softball program’s first-ever All-American and currently is in her 14th season as an assistant coach, has been named the University of Kentucky’s 2024 Southeastern Conference Women’s Legend.

Johnson-Belcher will be honored at the 2024 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament from March 6-10 in Greenville, South Carolina. Each legend will be recognized during halftime of their teams first game of the tournament, as well as a group introduction at halftime of the second semifinal game Saturday.

She played at Kentucky from 2007-2010, holding numerous school records, appearing in multiple Team USA competitions, and guiding Kentucky to its first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance in 2009.

She currently is in her 14th season as Kentucky’s assistant coach, where she mans first base for the Wildcats and oversees the UK outfield development.

In 2010, she was the No. 2 overall pick in the National Pro Fastpitch Draft, where she left UK as its all-time hits leader and was named the program’s first-ever NFCA All-American just weeks later. She currently ranks inside the top 10 at Kentucky in hits, batting average, runs scored, doubles, home runs, at bats, slugging percentage, total bases, stolen bases, and fielding percentage.

The All-American shortstop also had a bevy of SEC accomplishments, winning All-SEC honors in all four years as a Wildcat. She was voted All-Freshman in 2007, All-SEC Second Team in 2008 and First Team in 2009 and 2010. She was also a member of the All-Defensive Team in 2010 and made the SEC All-Tournament Team in 2009, her junior campaign.

T-Mobile is an official sponsor of the SEC.

2024 SEC Women’s Legends:

  • Dee Foster, Alabama, Gymnastics (1990-93)
  • Krystal Osborne, Arkansas, Volleyball (1994-97)
  • DeWanna Bonner, Auburn, Basketball (2006-09)
  • Kiara Smith, Florida, Basketball (2018-22)
  • Ashley Houts, Georgia, Basketball (2006-10)
  • Molly Johnson-Belcher, Kentucky, Softball (2007-10)
  • Theresa Plaisance, LSU, Basketball (2010-14)
  • Ali Weisz, Ole Miss, Rifle (2013-17)
  • Tan White, Mississippi State, Basketball (1997-2001)
  • Bri Kulas, Missouri, Basketball (2012-14)
  • Blakely Mattern, South Carolina, Soccer (2006-09)
  • Monica Abbott, Tennessee, Softball (2004-07)
  • Jessica Beard, Texas A&M, Track & Field (2008-11)
  • Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt, Basketball (2011-14)

NEW for 2024 – The Kentucky Softball Designated Players Club

The Designated Players is the Official Booster Program of Kentucky Softball.  Financial contributions and community support through The Designated Players program, Kentucky Softball will be able to continue to develop our student-athletes on and off the field. To join The Designated Players, you can join online or click here to download the membership form and mail to the address listed.  For more information, email Kristine Himes at kentuckysoftball@uky.edu or Larry Cash at Larry.Cash@uky.edu.

For the latest on UK Softball, follow the Kentucky Wildcats on Twitter and Instagram at @UKSoftball.

Related Stories

View all