Women's Soccer
Rhodes, Phillpotts, Strickland Tabbed All-SEC Awardees

Rhodes, Phillpotts, Strickland Tabbed All-SEC Awardees

by Greg Welsh

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Kentucky women’s soccer’s Jordyn Rhodes, Grace Phillpotts and Tanner Strickland were all among the 2023 SEC postseason award winners, as announced by the conference on Sunday morning.  The SEC postseason awards are voted on by SEC head coaches.

Rhodes was picked to the First-Team for the second-time in her collegiate career, while Phillpotts earned Second-Team status and Strickland was deemed an All-Freshmen selection.

Kentucky’s three All-SEC honorees are its most since the Wildcats had four in 2014.

Rhodes paced the Wildcats this season with nine goals and 22 points, including three goals scored in league play. The fifth-year forward became Kentucky’s all-time leading goal scorer this season, reaching 45 goals for her Kentucky career in a 2-1 win over No. 9 ranked Alabama. Rhodes was twice named SEC Offensive Player of the Week, and ended the regular season tied for the second most goals scored in the SEC and the third most points. The South Lebanon, Ohio native adds this year’s award to her First-Team selection in 2020 and her Second-Team honors in 2021. She becomes the sixth player in program history to be a multi-time SEC First-Team honoree joining Kim LaBelle, Elizabeth Ramsey, Carrie Landrum, Annie Gage and Arin Gilliland.

Phillpotts, a senior transfer from DePaul, receives the nod to the Second Team in her first year of SEC Soccer. A native of Fenton, Michigan, Phillpotts collected four assists this season while serving as the Wildcats’ primary set piece taker. The defender also helped anchor a Kentucky backline which conceded just 10 goals during the regular season, the second fewest among SEC teams.

Strickland rounds out the UK selections following an outstanding freshman season which saw her lead the Wildcats with five assists, tied for the seventh most helpers in the SEC. Strickland, a native of Tampa Bay, Florida, also scored one goal this season, finding the back of the net in a 3-0 win against Iowa State. She if the program’s first All-Freshman selection since Hannah Richardson in 2019.

The full SEC award postseason award selections can be seen below.

First Team

Forward: Gianna Paul, Alabama

Forward: Ava Tankersley, Arkansas

Forward: Jordyn Rhodes, Kentucky

Forward: Kylee Simmons, Missouri

Forward: Cat Berry, South Carolina

Midfielder: Felicia Knox, Alabama

Midfielder: Bea Franklin, Arkansas

Midfielder: Macey Hodge, Mississippi State

Midfielder: Jordan Fusco, Tennessee

Defender: Gessica Skorka, Alabama

Defender: Daviana Vaka, Florida

Defender: Gracie Falla, South Carolina

Defender: Carolyn Calzada, Texas A&M

Goalkeeper: Heather Hinz, South Carolina


Second Team

Forward: Anna Podojil, Arkansas

Forward: Megan Hinnenkamp, Florida

Forward: Ava Galligan, LSU

Forward: Sizzy Lawton, Tennessee

Midfielder: Anna Haddock, Auburn

Midfielder: Croix Bethune, Georgia

Midfielder: Summer Denigan, Georgia

Midfielder: Mia Pante, Texas A&M

Midfielder: Ani Brighton, Vanderbilt

Defender: Ellie Podojil, Arkansas

Defender: Grace Phillpotts, Kentucky

Defender: Maya Antoine, Vanderbilt

Defender: Hannah McLaughlin, Vanderbilt

Goalkeeper: Shu Ohba, Ole Miss

Goalkeeper: Maddy Anderson, Mississippi State


All Freshman Team

Nadia Ramadan, Alabama

Avery Wren, Arkansas

Megan Hinnenkamp, Florida

Summer Denigan, Georgia

Kiera Staude, Georgia

Tanner Strickland, Kentucky

Ava Galligan, LSU

Avery Brown, Ole Miss

Reagan Schubach, South Carolina

Kate Runyon, Tennessee

Adysen Armenta, Texas A&M

Margo Matula, Texas A&M

Courtney Jones, Vanderbilt

Ella Eggleston, Vanderbilt


Coach of the Year: Colby Hale, Arkansas

Forward of the Year: Ava Tankersley, Arkansas

Midfielder of the Year: Bea Franklin, Arkansas

Defender of the Year: Gracie Falla, South Carolina

Goalkeeper of the Year: Heather Hinz, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Megan Hinnenkamp, Florida & Summer Denigan, Georgia

Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year: Bea Franklin, Arkansas & Anna Haddock, Auburn

For the latest on UK Women’s Soccer, follow the Wildcats on X and Instagram at @UKWomensSoccer, on Facebook and on the web at UKathletics.com.

Related Stories

View all