79 Wildcats Honored with 2019-20 CATSPYs

79 Wildcats Honored with 2019-20 CATSPYs

by Guy Ramsey

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The CATSPY Awards presented by Kentucky Farm Bureau concluded on Friday, with the last of 79 outstanding individuals and six teams recognized at the 18th annual celebration of UK Athletics.
The most prestigious honors were presented Friday, with the three-time defending Southeastern Conference champion volleyball team, Belk Bowl champion football team, SEC champion men’s basketball team, and Great American Rifle Conference regular-season and tournament champion rifle team named Teams of the Year.
Seven Wildcats – Glen Brown (swimming and diving), T.J. Collett (baseball), Josh Paschal (football), Asia Seidt (swimming and diving), Bailey Vick (softball), Alex Martens (softball), Leah Edmond (volleyball) – won UK Athletics’ highest individual honor in being named Mr. and Miss Wildcat. Seidt, one of the most accomplished swimmers in school history, accomplished the rare feat of being named Miss Wildcat in consecutive seasons. The Mr. and Miss Wildcat honors are presented in honor of late Kentucky tennis star Bruno Agostinelli to Wildcats who have displayed all-around excellence in athletics, academics, character and service during their Kentucky careers.

On Thursday, a new award – the Elite Performance CATSPY Award – was presented. Wednesday brought the announcement of winners of Rookie of the Year, Blue Heart and Heart of a Wildcat awards. This year’s Male Rookie of the Year was men’s golfer Cullan Brown, who was an All-SEC Freshman Team performer last spring before being diagnosed with osteosarcoma, a form of bone cancer, in his left thigh.
Awards given out on Tuesday were the Keightley Assist, Scratch and Supporting Role awards. CATSPYs week opened on Monday with the Community Service, Scholar-Athlete and Academic Team of the Year awards.
This year’s CATSPYs were presented virtually for the first time this year due to the ongoing response to COVID-19, with ESPN’s Laura Rutledge hosting BBN Live presented by eCoach. Winners and other special guests joined BBN Live all week and the stellar work of UK Sports Video was featured both on the live show and on social media. The CATSPYs are presented in April each year, with this year’s awards recognizing achievements from April 2019 through April 2020.
A complete list of awards and winners is below:
Team of the Year
Men’s basketball
Mr. and Miss Wildcat
Glen Brown (swimming and diving)
T.J. Collett (baseball)
Josh Paschal (football)
Alex Martens (softball)
Bailey Vick (softball)
Asia Seidt (swimming and diving)
Leah Edmond (volleyball)
Elite Performance
Gabby Curry (volleyball)
Leah Edmond (volleyball)
Alli Stumler (volleyball)
Madison Lilley (volleyball)
Chloe Abbott (track and field)
Alexis Holmes (track and field)
Abby Steiner (track and field)
Lance Lang (track and field)
Rahman Minor (track and field)
Matthew Thomas (track and field)
Dwight St. Hillaire (track and field)
Kianna Gray (track and field)
Celera Barnes (track and field)
Janie O’Connor (track and field)
Noah Castle (track and field)
Ben Young (track and field)
Kyndal Knight (swimming and diving)
Ellen Ekholm (track and field)
Nicole Fautsch (track and field)
Rhyne Howard (women’s basketball)
Mary Tucker (rifle)
Asia Seidt (swimming and diving)
Mollie Korth (gymnastics)
Josie Angeny (gymnastics)
Jenny Schaper (softball)
Abbey Cheek (softball)
Katie Reed (softball)
Bailey Bonnett (swimming and diving)
Izzy Gati (swimming and diving)
Megan Moss (track and field)
Dajour Miles (track and field)
Ali Galyer (swimming and diving)
Marie-Josee Ebwea Bile Excel (track and field)
Faith Ross (track and field)
Masai Russell (track and field)
Beth McNeese (swimming and diving)
Riley Gaines (swimming and diving)
Ruby Gomes (rifle)
Brennan Fields (cross country/track and field)
Lynn Bowden Jr. (football)
Max Duffy (football)
John Mitchell (swimming and diving)
Peter Wetzlar (swimming and diving)
Jason Head (swimming and diving)
Glen Brown (swimming and diving)
Danny Zhang (swimming and diving)
Chase Lane (swimming and diving)
Matt Peare (track and field)
Aimé Mabika (men’s soccer)
Kalil ElMedkhar (men’s soccer)
Nick Richards (men’s basketball)
Immanuel Quickley (men’s basketball)
Will Shaner (rifle)
Josh Sobota (track and field)
Daniel Roberts (track and field)
Logan Stenberg (football)
Drake Jackson (football)
Rookie of the Year
Mary Tucker (rifle)
Jensen Castle (women’s golf)
Cullan Brown (men’s golf)
Blue Heart
Emma Dellmore (swimming and diving)
Heart of a Wildcat
Aaron Hogue
Keightley Assist
Zach Wheeler
Scratch Award
Megan Monfredi (gymnastics)
Supporting Role
Jaida Roper (women’s basketball)
Hailey Poland (gymnastics)
Nate Sestina (men’s basketball)
Chase Lane (swimming and diving)
Community Service
Autumn Humes (softball)
Avery Skinner (volleyball)
Nicole Fautsch (track and field)
Josephine Chang (women’s golf)
Katherine Marianos (gymnastics)
Sarah Loheide (swimming and diving)
Asia Seidt (swimming and diving)
Ben Young (track and field/cross country)
For the latest on Kentucky athletics, follow @UKAthletics on TwitterInstagram and Facebook, as well as on the web at

Related Stories

View all