Men's Basketball
A total of 55 Wildcats have earned All-America honors, as recognized by the NCAA. Of those players, 21 have been named Consensus All-America First Team 26 times. The following is a chronological listing of all UK basketball players who have been named to the NCAA-recognized All-America teams, beginning with forward Basil Hayden in 1921. The NCAA currently utilizes the Associated Press, the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association and The Sporting News to determine Consensus All-Americans.
Key: • Consensus First Team; •• Consensus Second Team; ••• Consensus Third Team; AP: Associated Press; Ath: Athletic Publications; Athl: The Athletic; BT: Basketball Times; CA: Coach and Athlete; CBS: CH: College Humor Magazine; Col: Colliers (Basketball Coaches); CY: Converse Yearbook; DD: Don Dunphy; ESPN:; FOX: FOX Sports; HF: Helms Foundation; INS: International News Service; LM: Look Magazine; LO: Lute Olson; NABC: National Association of Basketball Coaches; NBC: NBC Sports; NEA: Newspaper Enterprises Association; Pic: Pic Magazine; Rivals:; SI: Sports Illustrated; To: Tempo; TSN: The Sporting News; TM: True Magazine; USBWA: U.S. Basketball Writers Association; UPI: United Press International; USA: USA Today; WA: John R. Wooden Award; Yahoo: Yahoo! Sports
Bold indicates the All-America selection was recognized by the NCAA that year
Basil Hayden
1921• (HF)
Burgess Carey
1925• (HF)
Carey Spicer
1929 (HF) 
1931 (HF)
Paul McBrayer  
1930 (HF)
Louis McGuiness  
1930 (CH-3rd)
Forest Sale  
1932• (HF, CY, CH-1st)
1933• (HF, CY, CH-1st)
Ellis Johnson  
1933 (HF)
John DeMoisey  
1934 (HF)
William Davis
1934 (CY-3rd)
LeRoy Edwards  
1935• (HF, CY-2nd)
Bernard Opper
1939•• (CY-1st)
Lee Huber
1941 (HF)
Milt Tico
1943 (Pic-3rd)
Bob Brannum 
1944• (HF, TSN-1st, CY-2nd, Pic-2nd)
Wilber Schu  
1945 (DD-2nd)
Jack Parkinson  
1946•• (HF-1st, CY-1st, TM-3rd)
Jack Tingle  
1946 (CY-3rd)
1947 (TM-2nd, NABC-2nd)
Ralph Beard  
1947• (HF-1st, CY-1st, TM-1st, NABC-2nd)
1948• (AP-1st, HF-1st, CY-1st, TM-1st, NABC-1st)  
1949• (AP-1st, UPI-1st, LM-2nd, Col-1st, CY-1st, HF-1st, TSN-1st)
Alex Groza  
1947• (HF-2nd, CY-2nd, TM-1st, NABC-1st)
1948•• (AP-2nd, HF-2nd, CY-1st, TM-2nd, NABC-2nd)
1949• (AP-1st, UPI-1st, LM-1st, CY-1st, HF-1st, TSN-1st)
Wah Wah Jones  
1947 (HF-2nd, CY-2nd)  
1948 (CY-3rd, TM-3rd)  
1949•• (AP-2nd, UPI-1st, CY-1st, TSN-2nd)
Jim Line  
1950 (UPI-3rd)
Bill Spivey  
1950 (AP-3rd, UPI-3rd, INS-3rd, HF-3rd)  
1951• (AP-1st, UPI-1st, LM-1st, INS-1st, Col-1st, CY-1st, HF-1st, TSN-1st)
Frank Ramsey  
1951 (AP-3rd, UPI-3rd, CY-3rd, TSN-2nd)
1952 (AP-2nd, UPI-2nd, CY-1st, HF-2nd, Ath-1st  
1954•• (AP-2nd, UPI-2nd, LM-1st, INS-2nd, CY-1st, HF-2nd, TM-2nd, NABC-2nd)
Cliff Hagan 
1952• (AP-1st, UPI-1st, Col-1st, INS-1st, CY-2nd, HF-1st, Ath-1st)
1954• (AP-1st, UPI-1st, LM-2nd, INS-1st, NEA-1st, Col-1st, CY-2nd, HF-1st, To-2nd, NABC-1st)
Robert Watson
1952 (Ath-3rd)
Bob Burrow
1955 (AP-3rd, HF-2nd)
1956•• (AP-3rd, UPI-3rd, LM-1st, NEA-2nd, Col-2nd, CY-2nd, HF-2nd, NABC-1st)
Johnny Cox
1957 (UPI-3rd, HF-3rd)  
1959• (AP-1st, UPI-2nd, NEA-2nd, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, CY-1st, HF-1st, TSN-2nd)
Vernon Hatton
1958 (CY-1st, HF-1st)
Billy Ray Lickert
1961 (HF-2nd)
Cotton Nash
1962•• (AP-2nd, USBWA-1st, UPI-2nd, NABC-3rd, TSN-2nd, CA-1st)
1963•• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-1st, UPI-2nd, NEA-2nd, LM-2nd, CY-2nd, HF)
1964• (AP-1st, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, UPI-1st, TSN-2nd, CY-1st, HF)
Louie Dampier
1966•• (AP-1st, NABC-2nd, UPI-2nd, CY-1st, HF)
1967•• (AP-2nd, NABC-3rd, UPI-3rd, CY-2nd, HF)
Thad Jaracz
1966 (AP-3rd)
Pat Riley  
1966 (AP-3rd, USBWA-1st, UPI-3rd, CY-2nd, HF)
Dan Issel  
1969•• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-1st, UPI-3rd, TSN-2nd, CY-1st, HF)
1970• (AP-1st, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, UPI-1st, TSN-1st, CY-1st, HF)
Mike Pratt  
1970 (CY-2nd)
Kevin Grevey
1974 (NABC-5th, HF)  
1975•• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-1st, UPI-2nd, TSN-2nd, CY-2nd, HF)
Jack Givens
1976 (HF)  
1977 (NABC-4th, HF)
1978•• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-2nd, UPI-2nd, CY-1st, WA-1st, HF)
Rick Robey
1977 (NABC-4th, CY-1st)
1978•• (AP-3rd, NABC-1st, UPI-2nd, TSN-2nd, CY-1st, WA-1st, HF)
Kyle Macy
1978 (UPI-3rd)  
1979 (NABC-3rd, CY-2nd)
1980• (AP-1st, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, UPI-1st, TSN-1st, CY-1st, WA-1st, HF
Sam Bowie
1981•• (AP-3rd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-2nd, UPI-3rd, TSN-2nd, CY-1st, BT-2nd, HF)
1984 (AP-2nd, TSN-2nd
Melvin Turpin
1983 (HF)
1984•• (AP-3rd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-2nd, UPI-3rd, BT-3rd)
Kenny Walker
1985•• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-2nd, UPI-2nd, BT-2nd, WA-1st)
1986• (AP-1st, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, UPI-1st, TSN-2nd, BT-1st, WA-1st)
Rex Chapman
1988 (NABC-3rd, BT-3rd)
Jamal Mashburn
1992 (BT-2nd)
1993• (AP-1st, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, UPI-1st, TSN-1st, BT-1st, WA-1st)
Tony Delk
1996• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, USBWA-1st, UPI-1st, TSN-2nd, BT-2nd, WA-1st)
Ron Mercer
1997• (AP-1st, NABC-1st, USBWA-1st, TSN-2nd, BT-2nd, WA-1st)
Scott Padgett  
(1999 WA-1st)
Tayshaun Prince
2001•• (AP-2nd, USBWA-2nd, NABC-3rd, BT-2nd, WA-1st)
2002 – (AP-3rd, NABC-2nd) 
Keith Bogans
2003 (AP-3rd, NABC-2nd, TSN-3rd, BT-3rd)
Jodie Meeks
2009•• (AP-2nd, USBWA-2nd, NABC-2nd, TSN-2nd, ESPN-2nd, Rivals-2nd)
DeMarcus Cousins
2010•• (AP-1st, USBWA-2nd, NABC-2nd, TSN-2nd, WA-1st, CBS-1st, FOX-1st, Yahoo-1st, Rivals-1st, BT-2nd) 
John Wall
2010• (AP-1st, USBWA-1st, NABC-1st, TSN-1st, WA-1st, CBS-1st, FOX-1st, Yahoo!-1st, Rivals-1st, BT-1st)
Terrence Jones
2011 (Yahoo-3rd)
Anthony Davis
2012• (AP-1st, USBWA-1st, NABC-1st, TSN-1st, CBS-1st, WA-1st)
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist
2012•• (AP-3rd, USBWA-2nd, NABC-3rd, TSN-2nd, CBS-2nd)
Julius Randle
2014 (AP-3rd, NABC-3rd)
Willie Cauley-Stein
2015• (AP-1st, USBWA-1st, NABC-1st, TSN-1st, NBC-1st, USA-1st, SI-2nd, CBS-1st, WA-1st)
Karl-Anthony Towns
2015•• (AP-2nd, NABC-2nd, TSN-3rd, USA-1st, CBS-2nd, SI-2nd)
Jamal Murray
2016 (AP-3rd, USA-2nd, CBS-3rd)
Tyler Ulis
2016• (AP-1st, TSN-1st, USBWA-2nd, NABC-2nd, WA-1st, SI-1st, USA -1st, CBS-1st)  
De’Aaron Fox
2017 (USA – 3rd, CBS-3rd, ESPN – 3rd)
Malik Monk
2017•• (AP-2st, TSN-2st, USBWA-2nd, NABC-2nd, WA-1st, USA-2nd, CBS-3rd, ESPN – 3rd)  

PJ Washington
2019••• (AP-3rd, TSN-3rd, USBWA-3rd, NABC-3rd, SI-3rd, USA-2nd, BT-3rd, LO)

Immanuel Quickley
2020 (CBS-3rd, Athl-3rd)


Related Stories

View all