Lilley Player, Curry Libero and Skinner Co-Coach of Year in SEC

Lilley Player, Curry Libero and Skinner Co-Coach of Year in SEC

by Chris Shoals

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Madison Lilley was named the 2020-21 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year, Gabby Curry won SEC Libero of the Year, Craig Skinner was named Co-Coach of the Year and six Kentucky players were named to the All-SEC team, the conference office announced on Sunday afternoon.
In addition to Lilley and Curry winning Player and Libero of the Year, four other Wildcats were named to the All-Southeastern Conference Team, as Alli Stumler, Azhani Tealer, Avery Skinner and Madi Skinner were named all-conference.
Madison Lilley, SEC Player of the Year

  • 11.9 assists per set
  • 24 service aces
  • 2.32 digs per set
  • Seven-time SEC Setter of the Week
  • Five-time SEC Player of the Week

Gabby Curry, SEC Libero of the Year

  • Third-straight SEC Libero of the Year title
  • 3.62 digs per set to lead all UK players
  • Two-time SEC Defensive Player of the Week

Alli Stumler, All-SEC

  • SEC Offensive Player of the Week in the fall
  • Led UK with 4.27 kills per set this season
  • Also had 2.41 digs per set

Avery Skinner, All-SEC

  • Registered 3.84 kills per set, and 4.04 against teams in the AVCA Top-50
  • SEC Offensive Player of the Week in the fall
  • 1.71 digs per set, as she played all six rotations

Madi Skinner, All-SEC and All-Freshman Team

  • Two-time SEC Freshman of the Week
  • Responsible for 2.52 kills per set
  • Four matches this season with 10-plus kills

Azhani Tealer, All-SEC

  • Transitioned to middle blocker this year
  • SEC Defensive Player of the Week in the fall
  • Hit a team-high .463 and averaged 1.33 blocks per set, which also led Kentucky.

Craig Skinner, SEC Co-Coach of the Year

  • Fourth-straight SEC Championship
  • Fourth SEC Coach of the Year title
  • 16th-straight NCAA Tournament appearance by securing the SEC’s automatic qualifying spot

The 2020-21 NCAA Volleyball selection show is Sunday at 4 p.m. ET on ESPNU.
All-SEC Team

Jillian Gillen Arkansas
Holly Carlton Florida
T’ara Ceasar Florida
Lauren Forte Florida
Thayer Hall Florida
Gabby Curry Kentucky
Madison Lilley Kentucky
Avery Skinner Kentucky
Madi Skinner Kentucky
Alli Stumler Kentucky
Azhani Tealer Kentucky
Taylor Bannister LSU
Gabby Waden Mississippi State
Kylie Deberg Missouri
Anna Dixon Missouri
Andrea Fuentes Missouri
Mikayla Robinson South Carolina
Lily Felts Tennessee

All-Freshman Team

Taylor Head Arkansas
Elli McKissock Florida
Phoebe Awoleye Georgia
Madi Skinner Kentucky
Paige Flickinger LSU
Lilly Gunter Mississippi State
Riley Whitesides South Carolina

Player of the Year:                    Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Libero of the Year:                    Gabby Curry, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year:                   Taylor Head, Arkansas
Scholar-Athlete of the Year:        Jillian Gillen, Arkansas
Co-Coaches of the Year: Jason Watson, Arkansas and Craig Skinner, Kentucky
Follow along with the Wildcats on TwitterFacebook and Instagram, and on the web at UKathletics.com.

Related Stories

View all