Oswald Named SEC Track & Field Scholar Athlete of the Year

By Jacob Most
May 17, 2013 -

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Chelsea Oswald has added to her already-impressive collection of awards both on and off the track as she was named Southeastern Conference Track and Field Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Friday.

Oswald was named 2013 SEC H. Boyd McWhorter Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year recipient earlier this season. The McWhorter Award goes to the conference’s top scholar-athlete across all sports.

Oswald was also named First Team All-SEC as she won two conference championships – at 5,000 and 10,000 meters – last weekend at the SEC Meet.

She set the SEC 10K record, and was fewer than two seconds off the conference 5K record.

Oswald is an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient and also the recipient of the NCAA Elite 89 Award, which goes to the competitor with the highest grade point average at each of the NCAA Championships. She won the award for the indoor season.

Oswald has been a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, the Athletics Director’s Honor Roll and the Dean’s List each semester of her collegiate career. She has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout her college career, and was a 2012 USTFCCCA All-Academic selection.

She has maintained a 4.0 grade point average throughout her college career, as she recently graduated with a degree in Biology.

Oswald was a 2012 cross country All-American and 2013 indoor track and field All-American in the distance medley relay and at 3,000 meters. She was First Team All-SEC for the 2012 cross country season as she was Bronze Medalist at the Conference Championship.

The Medina, Ohio native was selected to the 2013 SEC Track and Field Community Service Team.

The league office announced all the 2013 Outdoor Track and Field Awards on Friday, with five Wildcats picking up some form of All-Conference accolades.

Raymond Dykstra, Andrew Evans and Matt Hillenbrand all earned Second Team All-SEC accolades as each of the three was runner up in their respective events (Javelin, Discus and 1,500 meters) the SEC Championships.

Evans and Dykstra were both All-SEC selections last season. Hillenbrand was First-Team All-SEC for the 2013 Indoor Season as he was the conference mile champion.  

Mackay Wilson was named to the Freshman All-SEC Team as his sixth-place performance in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at SECs was the highest finish by a freshman in that event.

First Team All-SEC honors go to the first-place finisher in each of the 21 events per gender at the SEC Championships. Second-place accolades go to each event runner-up. Freshman All-SEC status is awarded to the top freshman finisher in each event.

Kentucky will next compete at the NCAA Championship East Preliminary Rounds May 23-25 at Irwin Belk Track in Greensboro, N.C., hosted by North Carolina A&T State University.

Kentucky will send 27 entries (14 men and 13 women) to the NCAA East Preliminary Rounds.

2013 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards
Men’s Coach of the Year:
Chris Bucknam, Arkansas
Men’s Runner of the Year:
Isiah Young, Ole Miss
Men’s Field Athlete of the Year:
Damar Forbes, LSU
Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year:
Jimmy Clark, Florida
Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year:
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Nathanael Franks, Arkansas
Women’s Coach of the Year:
Pat Henry, Texas A&M
Women’s Runner of the Year:
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year:
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year:
Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year:
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky

Men’s All-SEC First Team
Shermond Allsop, LSU
Ricky Babineaux, Texas A&M
Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M
Diondre Batson, Alabama
Rodney Brown, LSU
Kemoy Campbell, Arkansas
Jimmy Clark, Florida
Omar Craddock, Florida
Caleb Cross, Arkansas
Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
Aaron Ernest, LSU
Damar Forbes, LSU
Sam Humphreys, Texas A&M
Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
Leoman Momoh, Arkansas
Marcus Popenfoose, Auburn
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M
DJ Smith, Auburn
Kyle Strawn, Florida
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Isiah Young, Ole Miss

Men’s All-SEC Second Team
Marquis Dendy, Florida
Raymond Dykstra, Kentucky
Andrew Evans, Kentucky

Dushane Farrier, Alabama
Justin Fondren, Alabama
Akheem Gauntlett, Arkansas
Najee Glass, Florida
Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida
Solomon Haile, Arkansas
Arman Hall, Florida
Akeem Haynes, Alabama
Scottie Hearns, Mississippi State
Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky

Matthew Hoty, Tennessee
Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas
Sam Kendricks, Ole Miss
Kevin Lazas, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Eddie Lovett, Florida
Sean Obinwa, Florida
Jeremy Postin, Florida
Alex Sanders, Alabama
Leonardo Seymore, Florida
Ameer Webb, Texas A&M

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team

100m: Markesh Woodson, Missouri
110mH: Jermaine Collier, South Carolina
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
400m: Arman Hall, Florida
400mH: Scottie Hearns, Mississippi State
800m: Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M
1,500m: Robbie Farnham-Rose, Alabama
Steeplechase: Mackay Wilson, Kentucky

5,000m: Jimmy Clark, Florida
10,000m: Jimmy Clark, Florida
High Jump: Justin Fondren, Alabama
Pole Vault: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
Long Jump: Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas
Triple Jump, Imani Brown, Alabama
Shot Put: Ashinia Miller, Georgia
Discus: Ashinia Miller, Georgia
Hammer Throw: Elias Hakansson, Alabama
Javelin: Piotr Antosik, Mississippi State
Decathlon: Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Women’s All-SEC First Team
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Saniel Atkinson-Grier, Georgia
Ciarra Brewer, Florida
Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Donique’ Flemings, Texas A&M
Gwendolyn Flowers, Arkansas
Regina George, Arkansas
Natoya Goule, LSU
Carly Hamilton, Georgia
Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
Morgann Leleux, Georgia
Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
Sparkle McKnight, Arkansas
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky

Kearsten Peoples, Missouri
Ashton Purvis, Texas A&M
LaKeidra Stewart, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Tepe, Georgia
Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M
Marija Vucenovic, Florida
Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Women’s All-SEC Second Team

Kierre Beckles, South Carolina
Leslie Boozer, Georgia
Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Ebony Eutsey, Florida
Destinee Gause, Florida
Denise Hinton, LSU
Jessie Johnson, Auburn
Megan Malasarte, Georgia
Latoya McDermott, LSU
Cory McGee, Florida
Fawn Miller, Florida
Valentina Muzaric, Auburn
Ugonna Ndu, Florida
Kearsten Peoples, Missouri
Takeia Pinckney, LSU
Robin Reynolds, Florida
Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina
Agata Strausa, Florida
Toshika Sylvester, LSU
Semehar Tesfaye, Arkansas
Lanie Whittaker, Florida

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team
100m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
100mH: Racquel Moses, Ole Miss
200m: Felicia Brown, Tennessee
400m: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
400mH: Tyler Brockington, South Carolina
800m: Andria Aguilar, LSU
1,500m: Lily Williams, Vanderbilt
Steeplechase: Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas
5,000m: Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas
10,000m: Katelyn Greenleaf, Alabama
High Jump: Leontia Kallenou, Georgia
Pool Vault: Jessie Johnson, Auburn
Long Jump: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Triple Jump: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Shot Put: Cassie Wertman, Tennessee
Discus: Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M
Hammer Throw: Daina Levy, Auburn
Javelin: Marija Vucenovic, Florida
Heptathlon: Jennifer Cannon, Vanderbilt